

Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) WG on Nanomaterials in Cosmetic Products

Venue: Luxembourg
Meeting date: 4 May 2017

Minutes

1. Approval of the agenda and declaration of interests

The Chair welcomed the participants and announced one apology. The agenda was adopted with changes regarding sequence of items.

The Chair invited participants to declare any interest regarding matters on the agenda. None of the participants declared any interest conflicting with the matter on the agenda.

2. List of points discussed and conclusions

This was a regular meeting of the working group. The Working Group welcomed the new external expert appointed by the Commission, Dr Alain Simonnard, who participated for the first time to the meeting.

2.1 New mandates: No new mandates were presented.

2.2 Draft opinions (on hold):

• Colloidal Silver (nano)

The request for additional data was sent to the Applicants and uploaded into the CPNP portal of the Commission. Deadline for Applicants to reply is 30 September 2017.

• Styrene/Acrylates copolymer (nano) and Sodium styrene/Acrylates copolymer (nano)

The request for additional data was sent to the Applicants and uploaded into the CPNP portal of the Commission. Deadline for Applicants to reply is 30 September 2017.

2.3 Comments on opinions

Preliminary Opinion on Titanium Dioxide (nano form) as UV-Filter in sprays

SCCS/1583/17 is open for comments until 14 May 2017. No comments have been received yet.

2.4 Update of the Guidance on nanomaterials

The revision of the Guidance on nanomaterials is on-going. Tasks have been distributed.

3. Next steps

To collect all input from the members related to the revision of the Guidance (DL 19 June) and to prepare a new version for the next meeting.

4. Next meeting(s)

29 June and 29 August 2017.

5. List of participants

SCCS Members

- 1. Dr Ulrike BERNAUER (Chair)
- 2. Dr Laurent BODIN
- 3. Prof. Qasim CHAUDHRY (Chair SCCS)
- 4. Prof. Pieter-Jan COENRAADS
- 6. Dr Eric GAFFET
- 7. Prof. Eirini PANTERI
- 8. Dr Christophe ROUSSELLE
- 9. Dr Maciej STEPNIK
- 10. Dr Susan WIJNHOVEN

SCHEER Members

- 1. Prof. Peter H.M. HOET
- 2. Dr Wim de JONG

External Experts

- 1. Natalie VON GÖTZ
- 2. Alain SIMONNARD