

Luxembourg, 1 October 2018

# Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) WG on Nanomaterials in Cosmetic Products

25 September 2018, Luxembourg

## Minutes

## 1. Welcome and apologies, approval of the agenda and declaration of interests

The Chair welcomed the participants. One apology has been received.

The agenda was adopted without changes.

The minutes of the previous meeting were endorsed by written process by the WG members and published on the website.

The Chair invited participants to declare any interest regarding matters on the agenda. None of the participants declared any interest conflicting with the matter on the agenda.

#### 2. List of points to be discussed

#### 2.1. New mandates

None

#### 2.2. Legislative points from GROW

None

#### 2.3. Draft opinions discussed

- Solubility of Synthetic Amorphous Silica (SAS) the Opinion has been further discussed after receiving additional reply from the Applicant.
- Two coatings for Titanium Dioxide (nano form) (Methicone CAS/EC 9004-73-3/236-675-5 and Perfluorooctyl Triethoxy silane CAS/EC 51851-37-7/257-473-3) as UV-filter in dermally applied cosmetic products - Submission II. A letter has been sent to the Applicant asking for clarification. DL December; on-hold until end of 2018.

• Update of the SCCS nano guidance - discussion of contributions and distribution of tasks

#### **2.4.** Comments on Opinions

• Scientific opinion on colloidal silver (nano) – draft replies to comments were discussed and adopted by the working group, as well as the final Opinion. Opinion and replies to comments will be on the agenda at the SCCS October plenary meeting for possible adoption.

#### 3. Next meeting(s)

12 December 2018 24 January 2019

## 4. A.O.B.

Article on Hydroxyapatite has been published in Reg. Tox. and Pharmacology.

## 5. List of participants

#### **SCCS Members**

- 1. Dr Ulrike BERNAUER (Chair)
- 2. Dr Laurent BODIN
- 3. Dr Qasim CHAUDHRY (Chair SCCS)
- 4. Dr Pieter-Jan COENRAADS
- 5. Dr Maria DUSINSKA
- 6. Dr Eric GAFFET
- 7. Prof. Eirini PANTERI
- 8. Dr M. STEPNIK
- 9. Dr Susan WIJNHOVEN

#### **SCHEER Member**

1. Dr Wim de JONG

#### **External Experts**

- 1. Dr Alain SIMONNARD
- 2. Dr Natalie VON GÖTZ