

Joint Plenary Meeting of the

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEES ON CONSUMER SAFETY (SCCS), ON HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL RISKS (SCHER) AND ON EMERGING AND NEWLY IDENTIFIED HEALTH RISKS (SCENIHR)

Luxembourg, 11-12 April 2013

MINUTES

PLENARY OF THE 3 COMMITTEES -12 APRIL 2013

1. Welcome and introduction by the Commission

The meeting was opened by J. Ryan, acting Director of the Public Health Directorate, European Commission. An introductory presentation was given by Prof. A. Glover, who is Chief Scientific Adviser to the President of the European Commission. Her speech focused on the importance of members using their expertise, knowledge and networks to provide EU policy makers with credible, valuable and powerful advice through the scientific committees' opinions. The work of the scientific Committee contributes to implementing the approach to safety in all areas, and to making a bridge between science and policy. The key factors towards making a real change are: good risk communication because often scientific knowledge generated does not have impact; challenging (including ourselves) and good collaboration between existing scientific committees (SCs) in the European Commission - this includes the newly created President Science and Technology advise Council Prof. A. Glover chairs, with which the Scientific Committees will interact. She concluded that the ability to evoke precautionary principle should be perceived as an engine and a real tool for innovation, stimulating science to fill the gap in the areas of research where further study is still needed.

2. Working methods of the Scientific Committees

S. Schreck, Health Information Head of Unit, illustrated the different stages in the development of scientific advice given by the Scientific Committees and their functioning and working procedures. (See presentation.)

Finally S. Schreck explained the election process of Chair/Vice-Chairs. He explained that, in accordance with the Rules of Procedure as required by Article 10 of Commission Decision 2008/721/EC of 10 September 2008 setting up Scientific Committees in the field of consumer safety, public health and the environment, the committee should elect a Chairman and two Vice-Chairmen by simple majority of the members that make up the Committee. He said that candidates could either nominate themselves for consideration or be nominated by another member of the Committee.

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE ON EMERGING AND NEWLY IDENTIFIED HEALTH RISKS Minutes 1st Plenary meeting 12 April 2013

1. Welcome and introduction by the Commission, adoption of the draft Agenda

The meeting was opened by T. Piha who welcomed the members. The agenda was adopted with no changes.

2. Introduction of members

T. Piha invited the members to introduce themselves briefly regarding their professional background, affiliations and areas of scientific expertise.

3. Election of the Chair and vice-Chairs of the Committee

A record of the election procedure is included in Annex II.

Chairman

Prof. Dr. Philippe Hartemann was elected as Chair.

Vice-chairs

Prof. Dr. Ana Proykova and Dr Emanuela Testai were elected as vice-Chairs.

T. Piha invited the elected Vice-Chairs to take over the meeting.

4. Declaration of conflict of interest

The chair recalled the audience that the forms for the annual Declarations of Absence of Conflict of Interest should be returned filled in and signed by the Committee members. Then he asked to declare any potential conflict of interest with the points to be discussed on the agenda. No potential conflict of interest was declared.

5. Presentation on Medical Devices legislation and the SCENIHR

The Chair introduced E. Hansson, Deputy HoU Health technology and Cosmetics Unit, to speak about the role of SCENIHR in the development of EU legislation in medical devices in order to ensure a high level of health protection.

6. Presentation of the on-going and forthcoming activities

The Chair introduced V. Garkov, from the Risk Assessment Unit, who presented the principal areas of activity of the SCENIHR: the on-going work. There were no new mandates.

The chair invited the newly appointed members to indicate which working groups they would consider joining and took note of their preferences.

The chair pointed out that a new chair should be appointed to the existing working groups if the current chair was no more member of the newly appointed SCENIHR.

9. Any other business

The SCENIHR provisionally agreed on the following dates for meetings:

25 June 2013 : Plenary meeting

Dates of September and December 2013 plenary meeting will be confirmed by email after agreement among all members.

Annex I: List of Participants

Annex II: Election Procedure

Annex I:

List of Participants

Members of the SCENIHR

Prof Dr Dekant Wolfang, Dr Emri Igor, Dr Epstein Michelle, Prof Dr Hartemann Philippe (<u>Chair</u>), Prof Dr Hoet Peter, Prof Dr Leitgeb Norbert, Dr Martinez-Martinez Luis, Prof Dr Proykova Ana (<u>vice-Chair</u>), Prof Dr Rizzo Luigi, Prof Dr Rodriguez-Farré Eduardo, Dr Rushton Lesley, Dr Rydzynsky Konrad, Dr Samaras Theodoros, Dr Testai Emanuela (<u>vice-Chair</u>), Dr Vermeire

Apologies

Dr Martinez-Martinez Luis (11 April) and Prof Dr Philippe Hartemann (12 April)

SCENIHR Secretariat (DG SANCO)

Tapani Piha, Vladimir Garkov and Donata Meroni

DG SANCO - Health technology and Cosmetics Unit

Erik Hansson

Annex II:

Election of Chair and Vice-chairs

Appointed members of the Committee were asked to express an interest of candidature for being chair and vice-chairs in writing prior to the meeting. In addition, during the meeting members were given an opportunity to announce their candidature or to nominate other members. Nominated candidates were asked whether they agreed to stand in the election. The chair and two vice-chairs were elected in separate votes.

Chairman

Prof Dr W. Dekant and P. Hartemann were the candidates for chairmanship. P. Hartemann was elected as the Chairman by the majority of SCENIHR members at the first ballot. The members voted by secret ballot.

Vice-chairpersons

Prof Dr A. Prokyova and Dr Emaunuela Testai expressed their interest in being elected vice-chair.

Both of them were elected as vice-Chairs in two separate votes by the majority of SCENIHR members.