

Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) WG on Nanomaterials in Cosmetic Products

17 July 2019

Minutes

1. Welcome and apologies, approval of the agenda and declaration of interests

The Chair welcomed the participants.

One apology has been received.

The agenda was adopted without changes.

The minutes of the previous meeting were endorsed by written process by the WG members and published on the website.

The Chair invited participants to declare any interest regarding matters on the agenda. None of the participants declared any interest conflicting with the matter on the agenda.

2. List of points to be discussed

2.1. New mandates

Mandate for an opinion on three coatings for Zinc oxide (nano form) [Methicone (CAS/EC 9004-73-3/ 236-675-5), Silica (CAS/EC 7631-869/231-545-4) and Isostearic acid (CAS/EC 30399-84-9/250178-0)] as UV-filter in dermally applied cosmetic products. The group agreed with the mandate that will be adopted by written procedure after the meeting. A Rapporteur was selected and appointed.

2.2. Legislative points from GROW

 GROW Call for Data for copper, gold and platinum: https://ec.europa.eu/growth/content/call-data-ingredients-used-cosmetic-products_en

2.3. Draft opinions discussed

- Draft Opinion on Copper (nano) and Colloidal Copper (nano) CAS No 7440-50-8, EC No. 231-159-6. The content of the dossier was discussed as well as the results from the literature search. Tasks have been distributed among members. The draft will be discussed at the next August WG meeting.
- Draft Opinion on Hydroxyapatite (nano) submission II. The text was discussed and amendments were made. A clarification regarding the exact reference of a report will need to be requested to the Applicant after the meeting.
- Two coatings for Titanium Dioxide (nano form) (Methicone CAS/EC 9004-73-3/236-675-5 and Perfluorooctyl Triethoxy silane CAS/EC 51851-37-7/257-473-3) as UV-filter in dermally applied cosmetic products: the dossier has been withdrawn by the Applicant.
- Update of the SCCS nano guidance discussion on contributions and distribution of new tasks.

2.4. Comments on Opinions

 Preliminary Opinion on the Solubility of Synthetic Amorphous Silica (SAS): SCCS responses to comments received were adopted at the plenary meeting and sent back to the respective recipients. The final Opinion was also adopted at plenary meeting and has been published.

3. Next meeting(s)

24 September 2019

26 November 2019

4. List of participants

SCCS Members

1. Dr Ulrike BERNAUER

(Chair SCCS)

- 2. Dr Laurent BODIN
- 3. Prof. Qasim CHAUDHRY
- 4. Prof. Pieter-Jan COENRAADS
- (Vice-chair SCCS and chair of the WG)

- 5. Prof. Maria DUSINSKA
- 6. Dr Eric GAFFET
- 7. Prof. Eirini PANTERI
- 8. Dr Christophe ROUSSELLE
- 9. Dr Maciej STEPNIK
- 10. Dr Susan WIJNHOVEN

SCHEER member

11. Dr Wim De Jong

SCCS External Expert

12. Dr Alain SIMONNARD

Apologies

SCCS External Expert

13. Dr Natalie von Götz

SCCS Secretariat (DG SANTE C2)

14. Natacha GRENIER

GROW D4

15. George MANIKAS (by audio)