

Scientific Committees on Consumer Safety (SCCS), and on Health, Environmental and Emerging Risks (SCHEER) JOINT PLENARY of the new Committee term (2016-2021)

Venue: Luxembourg

Meeting date: 29 April 2016 (second day)

Minutes

• WELCOME AND APOLOGIES (CHAIR: COMMISSION)

Philippe Roux, Head of Unit SANTE C2, welcomed the new members. Apologies were received from four SCCS members. See list of participants in Annex 3.

• ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

The agenda was adopted as presented except for moving the presentation of the rules for the election process before the coffee break.

• SECOND EVALUATION OF THE SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEES

The results of the draft final report of the second evaluation on the Scientific Committees were presented by the Contractor to the new members. The report, when finalised, will be published following Commission procedures on the Scientific Committees' website.

• ADOPTION OF THE DRAFT RULES OF PROCEDURE

Donata Meroni, Deputy Head of Unit SANTE C2, presented the Scientific Committees' draft Rules of Procedure. The Common Rules of Procedures were proposed by the Secretariat, in agreement with SANTE in order to be adopted by the Committees, pursuant article 12 of the Decision establishing the Committees¹. They are based on the set of Rules in use in the previous term, and take into consideration the changes introduced by the Decision establishing the new Committees.

The Rules of Procedures were adopted by both Committees.

Possible amendments to the Rules of Procedure could occur in the future, as new Horizontal Rules on Commission Expert Groups are under adoption in the European Commission. In this case a formal adoption by the Scientific Committees of amended Rules of Procedure is needed.

• RULES ON INTEREST, CONFIDENTIALITY AND TRANSPARENCY

Diana Herold, from the Secretariat of the Scientific Committees in SANTE C2, presented the key principles of independence, confidentiality and transparency.

• ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Elisabeth Lance and Claudia Pyszczek, from the Secretariat of the Scientific Committees in SANTE C2, presented the rules for reimbursement and the procedure of the Committees.

¹ Commission Decision C(2015) 5383

Diana Herold, from the Secretariat of the Scientific Committees in SANTE C2, presented the electronic platform that will be used for exchange of documents among experts of the Scientific Committees.

• COMMUNICATION: DISSEMINATION ACTIVITIES AND WEBSITE

Patricia Nelissen, from SANTE C2, presented the dissemination activities of the Scientific Committees, particularly through the website which implements the transparency policy.

• PRESENTATION OF THE RULES OF PROCEDURE FOR THE ELECTION OF THE CHAIRS AND VICE-CHAIRS

Silvia Hrubanova, from the Secretariat of the Scientific Committees in SANTE C2, presented the rules of procedure for the election of the Chair and the Vice-Chairs of the Committees.

• ELECTION PROCESS

The Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety elected Qasim Chaudhry (UK) as Chair, Vera Rogiers (BE) and Pieter-Jan Coenraads (NL) as Vice-Chairs.

The Scientific Committee on Health, Environmental and Emerging Risks elected Theo Vermeire (NL) as Chair, Emanuela Testai (IT) and Renate Krätke (DE) as Vice-Chairs.

See Annexes 1 (SCCS) and 2 (SCHEER) for details.

ANNEX 1

Minutes on the Selection of SCCS Chair and Vice-Chairs

1. ELECTION OF A SCCS CHAIR

Two members stood as candidates to be elected as SCCS Chair: Vera Rogiers and Qasim Chaudhry Both candidates presented themselves shortly.

Voting papers were distributed, collected and counted by the Secretariat.

The quorum to be reached was 9 votes (simple majority of the total number of SCCS members).

Results:

Qasim Chaudhry: 10 votes Vera Rogiers: 3 votes

Qasim Chaudhry was elected as the SCCS Chair for the term 2016-2021.

2. ELECTION OF A FIRST SCCS VICE-CHAIR

Three members stood as candidates to be elected as a first SCCS Vice-Chair: Vera Rogiers, P.J. Coenraads and Corrado Lodovico Galli.

All candidates presented themselves shortly.

Voting papers were distributed, collected and counted by the two representatives of the Secretariat.

First round results:

Vera Rogiers: 7 votes
P.J. Coenraads: 4 votes
Corrado Lodovico Galli: 2 votes

Second round results:

Vera Rogiers: 10 votes P.J. Coenraads: 3 votes

Vera Rogiers was elected by the majority as SCCS Vice-Chair for the term 2016-2021.

3. ELECTION OF A SECOND SCCS VICE-CHAIR

Two members stand as candidates to be elected as a second SCCS Vice-Chair: P.J. Coenraads and Corrado Lodovico Galli.

Voting papers were distributed, collected and counted by the two representatives of the Secretariat.

Results:

P.J. Coenraads: 11 votes Corrado Lodovico Galli: 2 votes

P.J. Coenraads was elected by the majority as SCCS Vice-Chair for the term 2016-2021.

ANNEX 2

Minutes on the Selection of SCHEER Chair and Vice-Chairs

1. ELECTION OF A SCHEER CHAIR

All SCHEER members presented themselves and each member indicated if she/he wishes to stand as candidates for Chair or Vice-Chair.

Three members stood as candidates to be elected as SCHEER Chair: Wim de Jong, Ana Proykova, and Theo Vermeire.

Voting papers were distributed, collected and counted by the Secretariat.

The quorum to be reached was 9 votes (simple majority of the total number of SCHEER members).

Results:

Wim de Jong 1 vote
Ana Proykova 2 votes
Theo Vermeire 13 votes

Theo Vermeire was elected as the SCHEER Chair for the term 2016-2021.

2. ELECTION OF A SCHEER VICE-CHAIR

Five members stand as candidates to be elected as SCHEER Vice-Chair: Teresa Borges, Wim de Jong, Renate Krätke, Ana Proykova and Emanuela Testai.

Voting papers have been distributed, collected and counted by the two representatives of the Secretariat.

Results:

Teresa Borges 0 vote
Wim de Jong 1 vote
Renate Kraetke 5 votes
Ana Proykova 3 votes
Emanuela Testai 7 votes

The Committee unanimously decided to appoint Emanuela Testai and Renate Krätke as SCHEER Vice-Chairs for the term 2016-2021.

List of Participants

Members of the SCCS

Ulrike Bernauer, Laurent Bodin, Leonardo Celleno, Qasim Chaudhry (Chair), Pieter-Jan Coenraads (2nd Vice-Chair), Maria Dusinska, Corrado Lodovico Galli, Berit Granum, Eirini Panteri, Vera Rogiers (1st Vice-Chair), Maciej Stepnik, Tamara Vanhaecke, Susan Wijnhoven.

Members of the SCHEER

Roberto Bertollini, Teresa Borges, Wim de Jong, Pim de Voogt, Raquel Duarte-Davidson, Peter Hoet, Rodica Mariana Ion, Renate Krätke (2nd Vice-Chair), Demosthenes Panagiotakos, Ana Proykova, Theodoros Samaras, Marian Scott, Remy Slama, Emanuela Testai (1st Vice-Chair), Theo Vermeire (Chair), Marco Vighi, Sergej Zacharov.

Apologies

SCCS members: Jeanne Duus-Johansen, Janine Ezendam, Eric Gaffet, and Christophe Rousselle

Scientific Committees secretariat (DG SANTE C2)

Philippe Roux, Donata Meroni, Natacha Grenier, Diana Herold, Silvia Hrubanova, Mihaela Haratau, Elisabeth Lance, Claudia Pyszczek, Patricia Nelissen, Vanessa Lehner and Wendy Winn.

DG GROW D4

Gaetano Castaldo.