

16TH MEETING TOBACCO PRODUCTS REGULATORY COMMITTEE established under Article 10 of the Tobacco Products Directive 2001/37/EC Summary record

Meeting date: 5 March 2014, 10.00 – 17.00 BRUSSELS, ALBERT BORCHETTE (CCAB), RUE FROISSART 36 MEETING ROOM 4C

The meeting focused on the new Tobacco Products Directive (TPD) and the organisation of related future work.

The Commission gave a presentation on the TPD, focusing on the process to date, main elements of the Directive and next steps. It explained that a new expert group on tobacco control will be established.

The Commission then outlined the future work under the TPD, including contracts soon to be launched or already commenced (study on track & trace), the secondary legislation that will be required to make the TPD operational and the setting up of the future expert group on tobacco control, which will be necessary in particular for the delegated acts provided for under the TPD. Sub-groups of the expert group will be established on specific topics. A separate Committee for implementing acts is established under the TPD itself. In a separate presentation the contractor responsible for the track and trace study outlined its work and asked that MSs be cooperative if information is requested of them. Member States agreed that one single contact point per country is best and that the Committee members themselves should act as this contact point.

A short presentation was given by the Commission on the new images for health warnings. This is linked to the update of the current text warnings through Directive 2012/9, the transposition deadline of which has been extended. The new images have undergone a thorough legal and medical evaluation, and will be adopted via a delegated act under the TPD.

The Commission reminded that COP6 of WHO's Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC) is planned to take place 13-18 October 2014 in Moscow. It provided a brief update on related meetings in which the EU has participated throughout the year.

Several Member States presented on state of play and on recent tobacco control developments at national level, such as considerations on plain packaging, e-cigarettes, proxy purchasing of tobacco products (adults knowingly buying tobacco for under 18s), smoking in cars with children and smoke-free environments.

Certain subjects (smoke-free environments; Article 5(3) FCTC [protection of tobacco control policies from industry interests]; e-cigarettes; the organisation of tobacco control campaigns) were identified for possible further exploration in meetings of the future expert group. At the request of Member States, the Commission agreed to support some additional information sharing activities amongst Member States on the subject of e-cigarettes.

The Commission thanked the participants. Further details regarding the establishment of the expert group and working procedures will be communicated at a later point in time.

Annex I – List of Participants

Committee members

Austria (Federal Ministry of Health)

(Medical University Vienna)

Belgium (FPS Public Health) Bulgaria (Ministry of Health)

(Permanent Representation to the EU)

Cyprus (no attendee)

Czech Republic (Ministry of Agriculture)

(Ministry of Health)

Croatia (Ministry of health)

Denmark (Danish Health and Medicines Authority)

(Ministry of Health)

(Ministry of Taxation)

Estonia (Ministry of Social Affairs)

Finland (Ministry of Social Affairs and Health)

France (Ministry of Health - Direction générale de la santé)

Germany (BMEL)

Greece (Tobacco Institute of Greece)

Hungary (National Institute for Health Development)

Ireland (Department of Health)
Latvia (Ministry of Health)
Italy (Ministry of Health)
Lithuania (Ministry of Economy)
Luxembourg (Ministry of Health)

Malta (Environmental Health Directorate)

Poland (Ministry of Health)

Portugal (General Directorate of Health)

Romania (Ministry of Health) Slovakia (Public Health Authority)

Slovenia (Ministry of Health of the Republic of Slovenia)

Spain (Dirección General Salud Pública, Calidad e Innovación)

Sweden (Public Health Agency of Sweden)

(Ministry of Health and Social Affairs)

The Netherlands (Ministry of Health, Welfare and Sport)

(RIVM)

United Kingdom (Department of Health)

Observers

Iceland (Ministry of Welfare)
Norway (Ministry of Health)

(Directorate of Health)

Turkey (Tobaccco and Alcohol Market Regulatory Authority)

(Permanent Delegation of Turkey to the EU)

Former Yugoslav Republic

of Macedonia "FYROM" (Mission of the Republic of Macedonia to the EU)

Montenegro (no attendee)

Commission services:

Mr Dominik Schnichels	DG SANCO D4 (Chair)
Mr Antti Maunu	DG SANCO D4
Ms Sigrid Wimmer	DG SANCO D4
Ms Katja Bromen	DG SANCO D4
Mr Matus Ferech	DG SANCO D4
Ms Ingrida Pucinskaite-Kubik	DG SANCO D4
Ms Isabel Holmquist	DG SANCO D4
Ms Patricia Murray	DG SANCO D4
Ms Maya Philippe	DG SANCO D4
Mr Emmanouil Daskalakis	DG SANCO D4