

14TH MEETING TOBACCO PRODUCTS REGULATORY COMMITTEE established under Article 10 of the Tobacco Products Directive 2001/37/EC Summary record

Meeting date: 14 March 2012, 10.00 – 17.00 BRUSSELS, COMMITTEE OF THE REGIONS Building 'Jacques Delors', Meeting room JDE 52

The meeting focused on the review of health warnings and the revision of the Tobacco Products Directive.

The Commission presented an overview of the current situation regarding combined (text and pictorial) health warnings. The Commission stated that new textual warnings were adopted on 7 March 2012 with a transposition period of 2 years and a transitional period of 4 years. The Commission explained that a new set of pictorial warnings were under development.

The Commission gave a presentation of the state of play regarding the revision of the Tobacco Products Directive. It presented in particular the options regarding smokeless tobacco products, herbal products, nicotine containing products (NCPs), traceability and security features, cross-border distance sales, packaging and labeling as well as ingredients.

Regarding packaging and labelling of tobacco products, the Commission enquired into the existence of quit-lines and other forms of cessation services and whether these were printed on packages. It was confirmed that all Member States offered cessation services, most have quit-lines and in many cases these are printed on packages. Concerning ingredients/additives, Member States were asked to update information (if available) on positive and negative lists. In relation to the issue of illicit sales of tobacco products, the Commission stressed the differences between three different types of products (cheap whites, contraband and counterfeit cigarettes).

Several Member States provided an update of market and legal developments and discussions in their countries. The Commission thanked Member States for their input and information regarding national legislations on tobacco products and asked them to proactively inform Commission services about new discussions and developments in tobacco control. The Commission also reminded participants that smoke-free environments have to be introduced at the end of 2012. Finally, the Commission presented a summary on activities under the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control.

The Commission suggested from a costs saving point of view that all future meetings of the Regulatory Committee be held in English. This was generally agreed by the participants.

The Commission thanked the participants for a fruitful meeting and active participation. The date of the next meeting of the Regulatory Committee would be communicated at a later stage.

Annex I – List of Participants

Committee members:

Austria (Federal Ministry of Health)

(Medical University Vienna)

Belgium (FPS Public Health)
Bulgaria (Ministry of Health)
Cyprus (Ministry of Health)
Czech Republic (Ministry of Agriculture)

(Ministry of Health)

Denmark (National Board of Health) Estonia (Ministry of Social Affairs)

(Permanent Representation to the EU)

Finland (Ministry of Social Affairs and Health)

France (Ministry of Health)

Germany (BMELV)

Greece (Tobacco Institute of Greece) Hungary (Ministry of National Resources)

(National Institute for Health Development)

Ireland (Department of Health)
Italy (Ministry of Health)
Latvia (Ministry of Health)
Lithuania (Ministry of Economy)

Luxembourg (Permanent Representation to the EU)
Malta (Environmental Health Directorate)

Poland (Ministry of Health)

Portugal (General Directorate of Health)

Romania (Ministry of Health) Slovakia (Ministry of Health)

Slovenia (Ministry of Health of the Republic of Slovenia)

Spain (Permanent Representation to the EU)

Sweden (Swedish National Institute of Public Health)
The Netherlands (Ministry of Health, Welfare and Sport)

United Kingdom (Department of Health)

(Permanent Representation to the EU)

Observers

Croatia (Ministry of Health) Iceland (Ministry of Welfare)

Norway (Mission of Norway to the EU)

Turkey (Tobacco and Alcohol Market Regulatory Authority)

Commission services:

Mr Dominik Schnichels	DG SANCO D4 (Chair)
Mr Antti Maunu	DG SANCO D4
Ms Anna Eva Ampelas	DG SANCO D4
Ms Sigrid Wimmer	DG SANCO D4
Ms Katja Bromen	DG SANCO D4
Ms Jutta Schlinke	DG SANCO D4
Mr Matus Ferech	DG SANCO D4
Ms Alice O'Donovan	DG SANCO D4
Ms Isabel Holmquist	DG SANCO D4