

Luxembourg, 14 December 2018

Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) WG on Nanomaterials in Cosmetic Products

12 December 2018, Luxembourg

Minutes

1. Welcome and apologies, approval of the agenda and declaration of interests

The Chair welcomed the participants. One apology has been received.

The agenda was adopted without changes.

The minutes of the previous meeting were endorsed by written process by the WG members and published on the website.

The Chair invited participants to declare any interest regarding matters on the agenda. None of the participants declared any interest conflicting with the matter on the agenda.

2. List of points to be discussed

2.1. New mandates

None

2.2. Legislative points from GROW

- Additional submission from Applicant on hydroxyapatite
 - Information provided is not sufficient to support either revision of the Opinion or a new mandate from DG GROW. DG GROW sent an email to the Applicant informing them to follow the SCCS recommendations and the last SCCS opinion on Hydroxyapatite and to prepare a full dossier in case new scientific data with respect to the specific Hydroxyapatite material(s) intended to be used in cosmetic ingredients will be available.

• Opinion on SAS – DG GROW sent mail to the Applicant (ASAPS) to clarify a question raised by the SCCS on information provided in the submitted dossier.

2.3. Draft opinions discussed

- Solubility of Synthetic Amorphous Silica (SAS)
- Two coatings for Titanium Dioxide (nano form) (Methicone CAS/EC 9004-73-3/236-675-5 and Perfluorooctyl Triethoxy silane CAS/EC 51851-37-7/257-473-3) as UV-filter in dermally applied cosmetic products
 - Deadline for Applicant's reply on the SCCS letter has been agreed for 15 December 2018. SCCS is waiting for a reply from the Applicant.
- Update of the SCCS nano guidance discussion of contributions and distribution of tasks.

2.4. Comments on Opinions

None

3. Next meeting(s)

24 January 2019 28 March 2019

4. List of participants

SCCS Members

- 1. Dr Ulrike BERNAUER (Chair)
- 2. Dr Laurent BODIN
- 3. Dr Qasim CHAUDHRY (Chair SCCS)
- 4. Dr Pieter-Jan COENRAADS
- 5. Dr Maria DUSINSKA
- 6. Dr Eric GAFFET
- 7. Prof. Eirini PANTERI
- 8. Dr Christophe ROUSELLE
- 9. Dr Maciej STEPNIK
- 10. Dr Susan WIJNHOVEN

External Experts

- 1. Dr Alain SIMONNARD
- 2. Dr Natalie VON GÖTZ