



# EU HEALTH POLICY PLATFORM ANNUAL MEETING

2020 EU HEALTH AWARD CEREMONY



Presentation: "The PASYKAF HPV elimination program"

Nicolas Philippou PASYKAF CEO



#### We are



PASYKAF is an NGO, established in 1986 in by 21 patients with cancer, relatives and friends

We evolved into a specialist organization that now numbers thousands of members, volunteers, sponsors, friends and 80 full time members of personnel and 20 associates, including health professionals, awareness and prevention officers, admin, managerial and other personnel

We are on a mission to improve the quality of life of cancer patients and their families and to save lives by providing:

- cancer prevention and early detection programs
- supportive, palliative care, psychosocial, bereavement and rehabilitation services
- and advocating for the improvement of cancer diagnostic and treatment services



#### The initiative



#### The HPV elimination program

PASYKAF started the HPV Elimination Program in June 2010, aiming to eradicate cervical and other HPV related cancers

This is an ongoing low cost but major health gain project that has shown amazing progress over the past decade



It has achieved a number of excellent results such as the increase of the HPV vaccination coverage rate in Cyprus to 75%





## Our focus

PASYKAF HPV Elimination Program has been rolled out across Cyprus each year since 2010 as part of the Association's commitment and contribution towards cancer eradication.

#### The initiative focuses on 3 areas:



- ✓ creating awareness about the prevention of HPV related cancers
- ✓ achieving the establishment of a national school based HPV vaccination program for 12 year old girls in 2016 and the extend of the coverage to boys in 2020
- ✓ leading the implementation of a national elimination plan for HPV related cancers by 2030 in accordance with ECCO guidelines



### It's a team work!



#### The HPV elimination program team



Georgia Orphanou

Marketing Director

**Dora Constantinides** 

Head of Awareness

**Dr Pavlos Drakos** 

**President Scientific Committee** 

Marina Kafourou Kosma

Head of Awareness

Dr Anna Achilleoudi

President

Nicolas Philippou

# Σας ευχαριστούμε!





Merci Obrigado Thank you Danke Gracias Vielen