



Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) Meeting of the Working Group on Cosmetic Ingredients in Cosmetic Products

25 April 2019, Luxembourg

MINUTES

1. Welcome and apologies, approval of the agenda and declaration of interests

The Chair welcomed all the participants. There were three apologies.

The agenda was adopted.

The minutes of the previous meeting held on 27 March were endorsed by written procedure by the WG members and published on the website: https://ec.europa.eu/health/sites/health/files/scientific_committees/consumer_safety/docs/sccs2016_miwg_059.pdf

The Chair invited participants to declare any interest regarding matters on the agenda. None of the participants declared any interest conflicting with the matters on the agenda. Vice-Chair, *Pieter-Jan Coenraads*, did not take part in scientific discussion for Allergy Alert Test (AAT).

2. List of points discussed and conclusions

2.1 New mandates

• Zinc pyrithione (P81) (CAS No 13463-41-7, EC No 236-671-3)

A rapporteur has been selected and will be appointed. The mandate will be adopted by written procedure of adoption after the meeting and will be published: https://ec.europa.eu/health/scientific_committees/consumer_safety/requests_en

2.2 Draft Opinions (for discussion):

• Allergy Alert Test (AAT) as a proof-of-concept study to elicit a signal recognizable by laypersons. The revised draft of the preliminary Opinion was discussed and finalised. It will be adopted by written procedure of adoption after the meeting and will be published for a commenting period of minimum 4 weeks.

The Applicant will confirm if there is no confidentiality issue when publishing tables/graphs in the Opinion.

- Hair dye Tetrabromophenol Blue, 4,4'-(4,5,6,7-tetrabromo-1,1-dioxido-3H-2,1-benzoxathiol-3-yliden)bis-2,6-dibromophenol (CAS 4430-25-5)- Colipa No. C183 Submission IV. A request to Applicant was sent following the plenary meeting. The dossier is on hold until end of May 2019.
- Hair dye Hydroxypropyl p-phenylenediamine and its dihydrochloride salt (A165). Submission I A request to Applicant was sent prior to the plenary meeting and the Applicant provided the clarifications. It will be discussed at the next WG meeting (23/05).
- Hair dye Methylimidazoliumpropyl p-phenylenediamine HCl (A166) (CAS 220158-86-1). Submission I A request to Applicant was sent prior to the plenary meeting. The dossier is on hold until May 2019.
- Hair dye Indigofera tinctoria (C170) (CAS 84775-63-3). Submission III A request to Applicant was sent prior to the plenary meeting. The dossier is on hold until end of April 2019.
- Aluminium A request to Applicant was sent prior to the plenary meeting. The dossier is on hold until 10 May 2019.

2.3 Comments on Opinions

- Fragrance Butylphenyl methylpropional (p-BMHCA) SCCS/1591/17 Submission II: A request to Applicant was sent following the plenary meeting. The Applicant replied the day of the meeting. The SCCS Opinion was further discussed and finalised. The final version will go through written procedure for adoption before publication.
- Hair dye 1,2,4-trihydroxybenzene (1,2,4-THB) (A33) (CAS 533-73-3). SCCS/1598/18 Submission VI the Applicant replied to the SCCS request but still miss some information. The dossier is on hold until May 2019.

3. Information from chairman/members/commission

- SCCS Secretariat is planning to participate in the Cosmetics Europe annual event CEAC 2019 on 12-13 June to present the SCCS state of play.
- SCCS members, *Janine Ezendam and Vera Rogiers*, are planning to participate in the Cosmetics Europe skin sensitisation workshop on 26-27 June to present the SCCS view.

4. Next steps

To collect all input from the members to prepare new versions for the next meeting (23 May).

5. Next meetings

23 May, 16 July, 29 August, 25 September, 27 November and 18 December 2019.

6. List of participants

SCCS Members

- 1. Dr Ulrike BERNAUER
- 2. Dr Laurent BODIN
- 3. Prof. Qasim CHAUDHRY
- 4. Prof. Pieter-Jan COENRAADS
- 5. Prof. Maria DUSINSKA
- 6. Dr Eric GAFFET
- 7. Prof. Corrado L. GALLI
- 8. Dr Berit GRANUM
- 9. Prof. Eirini PANTERI
- 10. Dr Maciej STEPNIK
- 11. Prof. Tamara VANHAECKE
- 12. Dr Susan WIJNHOVEN

SCCS External Experts

- 13. Dr Aglaia KOUTSODIMOU
- 14. Dr Alain SIMONNARD
- 15. Dr Wolfgang UTER

Apologies

- 1. Dr Janine EZENDAM
- 2. Dr Christophe ROUSSELLE
- 3. Prof. Vera ROGIERS

(Vice-chair SCCS)

(Chair SCCS)

(Vice-chair SCCS and chair of the WG)

SCCS Secretariat (DG SANTE C2)

1. Natacha GRENIER

3