

# Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) WG on Nanomaterials in Cosmetic Products

18 May 2018, Luxembourg, 9 AM

#### **Minutes**

## 1. Welcome and apologies, approval of the agenda and declaration of interests

The Chair welcomed the participants and announced two apologies. The agenda was adopted without changes.

The minutes of the previous meeting were adopted and published on the website in April 2018.

The Chair invited participants to declare any interest regarding matters on the agenda. None of the participants declared any interest conflicting with the matter on the agenda.

## 2. List of points to be discussed

#### 2.1. New mandates

None

## 2.2. Legislative points from GROW

 Further clarification and a correction requested from DG GROW related to the Opinion on Titanium Dioxide (nano form) coated with Cetyl Phosphate, Manganese Dioxide or Triethoxycaprylylsilane as UV-filter in dermally applied cosmetic (SCCS/1580/16)

## 2.3. Draft opinions discussed

- Solubility of Synthetic Amorphous Silica (SAS)
- Two coatings for Titanium Dioxide (nano form) (Methicone CAS/EC 9004-73-3/236-675-5 and Perfluorooctyl Triethoxy silane CAS/EC 51851-37-7/257-473-3) as UV-filter in dermally applied cosmetic products Submission II

 Update of the SCCS nano guidance - discussion of contributions and distribution of tasks

## 2.4. Comments on Opinions

• Scientific opinion on colloidal silver (nano) – draft replies to comments were discussed

## 3. Next meeting(s)

11 July and 25 September 2018

## 4. A.O.B.

None

## 5. List of participants

## **SCCS Members**

- 1. Dr Ulrike BERNAUER (Chair)
- 2. Dr Laurent BODIN
- 3. Prof. Qasim CHAUDHRY (Chair SCCS)
- 4. Prof. Pieter-Jan COENRAADS
- 5. Prof. Maria DUSINSKA
- 6. Dr Eric GAFFET
- 7. Prof. Eirini PANTERI
- 8. Dr M. STEPNIK
- 9. Dr Susan WIJNHOVEN

## **SCHEER Member**

1. Dr Wim de JONG

## **External Experts**

- 1. Dr Alain SIMONNARD
- 2. Dr Natalie VON GÖTZ