

Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) WG on Nanomaterials in Cosmetic Products

10 April 2018, Luxembourg, 9 AM

Minutes

1. Welcome and apologies, approval of the agenda and declaration of interests

The Chair welcomed the participants and announced two apologies. The agenda was adopted without changes.

The minutes of the previous meeting were adopted and published on the website in February 2018.

The Chair invited participants to declare any interest regarding matters on the agenda. None of the participants declared any interest conflicting with the matter on the agenda.

2. List of points to be discussed

2.1. New mandates

- Request for a scientific opinion on Solubility of Synthetic Amorphous Silica (SAS)
- Request for a scientific opinion on two coatings for Titanium Dioxide (nano form) (Methicone CAS/EC 9004-73-3/ 236-675-5 and Perfluorooctyl Triethoxysilane CAS/EC 51851-37-7/ 257-473-3) as UV-filter in dermally applied cosmetic products Submission II. further clarification requested from DG GROW

2.2. Other issues discussed

- References on influence of amount of coating on dermal penetration
- EC list of nanomaterials in cosmetics

2.3. Legislative points from GROW

• MBBT nano (SCCS/1546/15) – further explanation sent to DG GROW.

2.4. Draft opinions discussed

- Draft scientific opinion on Solubility of Synthetic Amorphous Silica (SAS)
- Update of the SCCS nano guidance discussion of contributions and distribution of tasks

3. Information from the Commission and members of the SCCS

- Preliminary Opinions on Colloidal Silver (nano) and on Acrlyates (nano) were adopted at SCCS plenary 21-22 February 2018 and published for commenting period
- EFSA Guidance on risk assessment of the application of nanoscience and nanotechnologies in the food and feed chain: Part 1 on human and animal health SCCS comments sent to EFSA on 2 March 2018.

4. Next meeting(s)

18 May 2018, **11 July and 25 September 2018**

5. A.O.B.

Publication of SCCS Opinions in scientific journals will be explored further.

6. List of participants

SCCS Members

- 1. Dr Ulrike BERNAUER (Chair)
- 2. Dr Laurent BODIN
- 3. Prof. Qasim CHAUDHRY (Chair SCCS)
- 4. Prof. Pieter-Jan COENRAADS
- 5. Prof. Maria DUSINSKA
- 6. Dr Eric GAFFET
- 7. Prof. Eirini PANTERI
- 8. Dr Christophe ROUSSELLE
- 9. Dr Susan WIJNHOVEN

SCHEER Member

1. Dr Wim de JONG

External Experts

- 1. Dr Alain SIMONNARD
- 2. Dr Natalie VON GÖTZ