

Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) WG on Nanomaterials in Cosmetic Products

11 July 2018, Luxembourg, 9 AM

Minutes

1. Welcome and apologies, approval of the agenda and declaration of interests

The Chair welcomed the participants. The agenda was adopted without changes.

The minutes of the previous meeting were adopted and published on the website in May 2018.

The Chair invited participants to declare any interest regarding matters on the agenda. None of the participants declared any interest conflicting with the matter on the agenda.

2. List of points to be discussed

2.1. New mandates

None

2.2. Legislative points from GROW

- A correction requested from DG GROW related to the Opinion on Titanium Dioxide (nano form) coated with Cetyl Phosphate, Manganese Dioxide or Triethoxycaprylylsilane as UV-filter in dermally applied cosmetic products (SCCS/1580/16) has been adopted and published.
- MBBT legislation has been adopted and published in the OJ

2.3. Draft opinions discussed

- Solubility of Synthetic Amorphous Silica (SAS) on hold as waiting for the reply from the Applicant. DL 15 September.
- Two coatings for Titanium Dioxide (nano form) (Methicone CAS/EC 9004-73-3/236-675-5 and Perfluorooctyl Triethoxy silane CAS/EC 51851-37-7/257-473-

- 3) as UV-filter in dermally applied cosmetic products Submission II. A letter will be sent to the Applicant asking for clarification.
- Update of the SCCS nano guidance discussion of contributions and distribution of tasks

2.4. Comments on Opinions

- Scientific opinion on colloidal silver (nano) draft replies to comments were discussed as well as the final Opinion,
- Nano Acrylates adopted as final (no comments received) and published on the web page of the Scientific Committees (SCCS/1595/18).

3. Next meeting(s)

- 25 September 2018
- 12 December 2018
- 24 January 2019

4. A.O.B.

Health-EU newsletter, edition on Scientific Committees, will be devoted to SCCS WG nano.

5. List of participants

SCCS Members

- 1. Dr Ulrike BERNAUER (Chair)
- 2. Dr Laurent BODIN
- 3. Dr Qasim CHAUDHRY (Chair SCCS)
- 4. Dr Pieter-Jan COENRAADS
- 5. Dr Maria DUSINSKA
- 6. Dr Eric GAFFET
- 7. Prof. Eirini PANTERI
- 8. Dr Christophe ROUSELLE
- 9. Dr M. STEPNIK
- 10. Dr Susan WIJNHOVEN

SCHEER Member

1. Dr Wim de JONG

External Experts

- 1. Dr Alain SIMONNARD
- 2. Dr Natalie VON GÖTZ