

Brussels, 10.3.2016 C(2016) 1368 final

COMMISSION DECISION

of 10.3.2016

appointing an independent scientific expert to the Pharmacovigilance Risk Assessment Committee

(Text with EEA relevance)

EN EN

COMMISSION DECISION

of 10.3.2016

appointing an independent scientific expert to the Pharmacovigilance Risk Assessment Committee

(Text with EEA relevance)

THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION.

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 726/2004 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 31 March 2004 laying down Community procedures for the authorisation and supervision of medicinal products for human and veterinary use and establishing a European Medicines Agency¹, and in particular Article 61a(1) and (4) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Article 61a(1) of Regulation (EC) No 726/2004 requires that the Commission appoints six independent scientific experts as members of the Pharmacovigilance Risk Assessment Committee.
- (2) Article 61a(1) of Regulation (EC) No 726/2004 provides that the Commission is to appoint those members with a view to ensuring that the relevant expertise is available within the Committee.
- (3) The members of the Committee are appointed for a period of three years, which may be prolonged once.
- (4) By its decision of 21 June 2012, the Commission appointed six independent scientific experts for a term of three years from 2 July 2012. The mandate of those experts has been prolonged by the Commission Decision of 13 May 2015 in accordance with Article 61(4) of Regulation (EC) No 726/2004 for a period of three years starting on 2 July 2015.
- (5) Where an appointed independent scientific expert by is no longer capable of contributing efficiently to the work of the Committee, or resigns, the Commission may replace this member from the reserve list, for the remaining duration of the member's mandate.
- (6) Ms Jane Ahlqvist Rastad resigned from her office with an effective date of 1 April 2016 and has to be replaced until the end of her term of office on the basis of the reserve list established by Commission Decision of 13 May 2015.

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Sole Article

Mr Thierry TRENQUE is hereby appointed as a member of the Pharmacovigilance Risk Assessment Committee for the period from 1 April 2016 to 1 July 2018.

_

OJ L 136, 30.4.2004, p. 1.

For the Commission Vytenis ANDRIUKAITIS Member of the Commission