Skip to main content
Public Health

When preparing policy and proposals related to consumer safety, health and the environment, the Commission relies on independent Scientific Committees to provide it with sound scientific advice and draw its attention to new and emerging problems. The Scientific Committees can call on additional expertise from a reserve list and a database of experts.

The following two Scientific Committees started their work in April 2016:

Watch the video explaining the Scientific Committees

Former Scientific Committees

The Inter-Committee Coordination Group, composed of the chairs and vice-chairs of the two Committees, helps coordinate the Committees and deals with:

  • matters relating to harmonisation of risk assessment
  • questions common to the Committees
  • diverging scientific opinions
  • exchange of information on the activities of the Committees.

The work of the Scientific Committees also feeds into the work of other Union risk assessment bodies such as the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA); the European Medicines Agency (EMA); the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC); and the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA).

The Scientific Committees are supported by a Secretariat which is located in DG Health and Food Safety.

The Principles and Working Procedures of the Scientific Committees are stated in their establishing Decision and in the Rules of Procedure.